Warm Up

Day One: July Camp NaNoWriMo 2018.

It’s not looking good.

This girl is fried, having not slept last night. And she is not at all sure which direction to go. So many stories in her head, all viable ideas that would make fun little chew toys for this coming month.

But which one? And when it comes down to it, does she really feel like writing at all? I mean yes she wants the satisfaction of a finished product and many eventual accolades for her efforts. But…

So we find ourselves here again. At least out of the house doing something somewhat like productively. Adding another addition to this irregular blog post that really doesn’t say much in the hopes that it will shake loose my muse enough to get out a few hundred words at least.

Then there is the comfort that no one else in my NaNo Cabin has updated their word count yet. So, in theory, I am not behind the ball just yet. Considering that there is still over twelve hours left to write 1,667 words!

Now all that remains is to figure out where my head is at and where it is we need to focus.

Do I work on my opus, and the very reason for this site to exist? Do I pursue a fantastically imagined version of my life reliving key moments of it through supernatural means to reach a certain truth?

Do I follow flights of fancy, either with a semi-solid plot lightly held together by a single idea or a five-second bought of inspiration that literally felt like getting hit by the muse? Both a risk while not really meaning anything to me.

Or do I just fling random shit at a blank page and hope for the best?

Unfortunately, this blog has no answers for me. All that is left is for me to open up a blank page and hit the gas. And we will see what comes out!

Leave a comment